Homepage / Personal / Race / Stereotypes / Thinking Out of the Book

Public Service Announcement

This is a repost from my Facebook account. If you don’t feel like reading it, please at least watch the embedded video below.

I don’t remember being told about the Japanese-American internment camps while I was in primary and secondary school. I only really got to truly understand what happened once I was in GRAD SCHOOL. So, good job at telling history which matters, America (and/or Illinois). We all know Pearl Harbor happened. We don’t all know what else was happening in this country – and we should, particularly if we do not want history to repeat itself.

******

Recommended reading below.

  • Home of the Brave by Allen Say. This is a picture book, it is quick and easy to read, but it is one of the most moving things I have ever read.
  • Citizen 13660 by Mine Okubo. This is a memoir of an artists’ experience in an internment camp. There are moving sketches and extended descriptions of her time in exile.
  • The Arrival by Shaun Tan. This is a wordless book which also does not take long to read, but has a large emotional impact. As the child of an immigrant, this book has stayed in my heart since the first moments I opened the cover. If you or anyone else needs some help remembering that immigrants are people, please read.

******

I’ve actually been thinking about George Takei a bit lately, and I never even considered the very real possibility that he had been one of the citizens forcibly removed from their homes during the Japanese-American internment.

Mr. Takei is doing something very important in spreading his message. Please forward this onto others as far as you can.

I am Japanese-Vietnamese-American, and I am privileged enough to not have been affected personally (through my family) by these events, but I don’t know what I – – we cannot let fear and ignorance and OTHERING take over this country.

Please scatter these seeds. Go register to vote. Encourage others to as well.

For information on voter registration (it is VERY easy!), visit https://www.usa.gov/register-to-vote

Continue the conversation

