Homepage

Summer Course: Reader’s Advisory

Summer session and my last class (for this MLIS degree) started yesterday!

I’m taking Reader’s Advisory taught by LeeAnn Suchy, which should be both fun and informative. A good way to go out of my graduate studies before attacking the world head on with my librarian powers. My first class was yesterday night.

What does this mean for you: the few, the proud, the readers of my blog?

Mostly that you’ll be seeing some short book reviews. These are going to be written as though I’m writing them for a library and not for personal use, so they will be short, professional, and unbiased. If you want to know my personal opinion on these texts, comment away. If I have a lot of time (doubtful), I may also write separate posts with my own reader responses.

And the books are…

Some required texts (generally the first I have listed) and some books we got to choose (I did not get my first choices all around – class size is 21!). The books I will be reading for class are below, in case you’re interested in reading along or want to know what to look forward to from me. A lot of mainstream reading I have never done!

LeeAnn did a great job doing book talks for all of the choice books for class last night (ie, 2x as many shown here, essentially) but since I’m not going to do that online, I will instead link each book cover to its Goodreads page so you can read about it and decide if you’re interested.

Literary Fiction

Perfect by Rachel Joyce

 Cover: Perfect by Rachel Joyce

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller

The Heist by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg; Cell by Robin Cook

Cover: The Heist by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg Cover: Cell by Robin Cook

Historical Fiction

The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye; An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris

Cover: The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye Cover: An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris

Fantasy

The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley; Kabu-Kabu by Nnedi Okorafor (reading this upon David‘s suggestion)

Cover: The Emperor's Blades by Brian Staveley Cover: Kabu-Kabu by Nnedi Okorafor

Science Fiction

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (friend Alyc Helms highly recommends this book and it also just won the Nebula Award); The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North/Kate Griffin (I will be leading class discussion on this title.)

Cover: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie Cover: The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

Graphic Novel/Manga/Comics

Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang; Attack on Titan Books One and Two by Hajime Isayama. David told me if I read Attack on Titan he’d read it with me, so he’d better. I love comics and graphic novels, generally, but have had trouble with manga in the past, so it will be good for me to branch out here.

Covers: Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang

Cover: Attack on Titan Volume One by Hajime Isayama Cover: Attack on Titan Volume Two by Hajime Isayama

Romance/Women’s Lives/Women’s Fiction

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan; Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Cover: The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan Cover: Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Young Adult Crossover

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick; Cy in Chains by David L. Dudley

Cover: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick Cover: Cy in Chains by David L. Dudley

Nonfiction

The Good Nurse by Charles Graeber; Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward

Cover: The Good Nurse by Charles Graeber Cover: Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward

Continue the conversation

