I'm Reading / KidLit / KidLit / Programming

Storytime Prep (Part Two: in the running)

Well, here’s a pickle.

I mean, here’s a sunflower. And another, and another!

I’m requesting more books…while not being able to choose from the ones I already have. I’m mostly looking for a good book concerning seeds which does NOT result in a flower but a tree, so hopefully I’ll have a great one waiting for me tomorrow.

Ten Seeds by Ruth Brown

Love this book, loved it the first time I read it. Says – without SAYING – a lot about plants as they grow and natural hazards for them. Also, it’s a counting book. It’s cyclical, which (should not be a surprise) many of these books about seeds (and plant life cycles) are. Nhia, who is my future classmate and current co-worker, is one of the people who organized this potential storytime project, and I am the first to give it a shot. I’m really honored to be the first storyteller for storytime in the St. Kate’s Library. And she went out of her way to get me this book because I really felt I wanted a copy. Still debating it. It’s very sparse, textually, but in the best way. Probably the youngest geared book in the bunch. Wonderfully playful and realistic illustrations.

SPOILER the seeds result in seeds…SUNFLOWER seeds.

81n0YKQ4FcL Ten-Seeds-illustrated-by--007

To Be Like The Sun by Susan Marie Swanson, Illustrated by Margaret Chodos-Irvine

Let’s come right out with the bias. I am friends with Susan Marie and she’s a local author. Bam.

Poetic. Sunflower. I love the direct address to the seed as it becomes a plant and sunflower. That gives it so many extra points. That said, this book also more blatantly goes through a variety of seasons, through fall when the flower gives its seeds to the bird feeder to when the narrator sits at home in the winter, remembering the flower in its bloom. I love reading this book out loud, the language is gorgeous, but I almost would like to read it in the wintertime as a reminder of summer when I have a library to do regular storytimes at, of my very own. Hmmmmm.

SunCoverTempScan-WS T129 HBC AW 16-17

City Green by DyAnne DiSalvo-Ryan

Last of the sunflower books (and really just at the last moment). One of the older books (also read: longer books) in the bunch. I just read it for the first time on Monday, and it appears to be an oldie but a goodie. I like it because it not only has to do with growth of plants, but community growth. Marcy, the narrator, helps create a community garden after a building is torn down, leaving a vacant lot. An old man, “Old Man Hammer,” is the story grouch, who had lived in that building and lets go of his curmudgeon-y ways by the end of the story. It’s long. A lot of text for a 4-6 year old crowd. One of the more people-centric “seed” stories, though.

City_green068812786X_int

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney

I had not read this before tonight, although I am told by many of my friends that they love it and so it appears to be a classic, at least among my age group (80s babies). The other long-story contender with a human touch! I helped pull/select the books for an Older Americans Month display a colleague was putting together today, and that might be why I’m feeling a leaning towards this book right now as well. (That said, wait! Didn’t I just say a character was named “Old Man Hammer” in the last book?) It has a familial cyclical feel, as well incorporates seeds and flowers into the story. I feel Miss Rumphius and City Green both have the ability to both teach and inspire a love of growing things in children’s lives. Tough choices, Emilie, tough choices. This one is shorter. Both might be a little challenging for the 4-year-olds in the crowd. I’ll look over which would be the most interesting for them.

Is this the right time to mention that I am starting to consider getting together a little bouquet for storytime of some real flowers? Yeah…

Also, my friend Sonja’s daughter Alice needs to be exposed to this book if she hasn’t been already (two characters named Alice)!

MissRumphiusBookCover miss-rumphius-walking

Well…out of time for now

I have more to write about and consider (at least three books tonight), but my lovely friend Don is taking me to the mall for emergency errands. (My Macbook has gone kaput. Thanks to the wonderful David in my life [and his computer in our house] for allowing me to write this post!)

Continue the conversation

