I'm Reading / KidLit / Reviews / Web/Library 2.0

My face, no longer private

The decision to put photos of yourself on the internet should be a hard one,

and it has been for me. For the most part, I’ve come to decisions as to what personal policies to live by on the web.

My LinkedIn profile in recent months has wavered in terms of my profile picture.

Should I have a photo, or an animated avatar? How do LinkedIn users address concerns about being lumped into a particular racial category when their photos are viewed by potential employers online? Does everyone need uber-“professional” photos in their LinkedIn profiles?

I’d like to feel free to be a little quirky, a little less serious.

These have been difficult decisions for me, and I still haven’t made them. Wanting to make a good impression and wanting to express who I am (someone who IS studious and professional, but in relaxed/creative ways).

My Facebook profile is locked down so that only my Facebook friends can access it.

That’s not changing anytime soon, and I believe in keeping privacy when I want it.

What I enjoy best about my Facebook profile is my shifting profile photos, featuring what books I’m reading. Most of the time my face isn’t even visible. But this idea I’m projecting, of who I am, is also not visible to any community outside of Facebook.

I’d change my tiny Twitter Icon, but

from my own experiences on Twitter, I prefer for users NOT to change their photos, since these avatars are so directly connected to the short tweets I’m reading. The avatar is often more recognizable than the Twitter handle, at least in Emilie’s version of Web 2.0.

I’m participating in a pilot program called “Success Teams”

at St. Kate’s, essentially a program where

  • you are teamed up with people of similar backgrounds and with similar career goals,
  • each member sets his/her own personal goals for the week,
  • and reports back to the group weekly at a meeting.

It’s pretty awesome. When the program is over, I’m going to miss it. Being accountable to others makes it so much more likely that I’ll actually get things done (that I should do, but that aren’t homework).

One of the results of this program thus far is that I’m seriously thinking (more effectively, I hope) about the concept of personal brand. And I’m starting to accept that you can promote your personal brand, but you can’t change it to reflect a person you aren’t. It has to be honest.

Honestly, I’m odd!

Maybe not for these pictures of myself, but I am.  I’m also smart and hard-working. I embrace what makes me different, and I embrace my need to update my Facebook profile with books. I embrace myself within the professional world, and my personal (often sci-fi, fantasy, kidlit and music obsessed) self.

I encourage you to do the same. Take a moment to accept who you are, positively.

I’m going to start uploading those Facebook photos here as well.

Hopefully it won’t bore you to death.

If this is an odd turn of events, feel free to also give the credit or blame at least in part to my reading of Unshelved. I love this comic, and it inspires me to be myself as I attempt to enter the world of LIS.

Look: she’s reading another book!

(Most of the time in these photos, the title is be clearer than in the example below).

Me Reading Treehorn's Treasure

I just read “Treehorn’s Treasure” by Florence Parry Heide, illustrated by Edward Gorey, 1981. It was amazing, which means it met my expectations.

This is a follow-up book to “The Shrinking of Treehorn” (also by Heide and illustrated by Gorey, 1971) which I also read fairly recently, loved, and immediately decided that if/when I have children, one of them will be named Treehorn (fingers crossed).

I have one book left to read about Treehorn (“Treehorn’s Wish,” sitting on my couch), but if it’s anything like the first two, it will include

  • kindly misunderstanding/neglectful adults
  • magic
  • a very logical Treehorn, who always recognizes and accepts what is.

I do not plan on being a neglectful parent, FYI.  I was excited to learn in this book that Treehorn’s mother’s name is Emily – not spelled the same as mine, but it still seems like good encouragement of my initial desire to use Treehorn’s name.

I hope you read something that makes you as happy as these are making me!

2 thoughts on “My face, no longer private

  1. On Facebook, viewers can enlarge the profile picture to see more detail. I don’t know if this is true on LinkedIn (I’m only on Facebook, and that’s hard enough for me to keep up with!), but if you don’t want to use your face, how about a stack of books you like?
    I don’t know any other way to deal with one’s “odd” — unless you want to spend all your time and energy hiding it!

Continue the conversation

